Toddler-hood is Delightful, Really!

Toddler-hood is Delightful, Really!

My parents began home schooling my siblings and me the year I started the 7th grade, so the very beginning years are uncharted territory for me. My intent for this blog is to share my own experience of home schooling from the start, in hopes that it may help and encourage others teaching their small children at home.

From the moment I knew of her existence, I loved my daughter. The months I carried her I consider a very special time in my life, and the day (or early morning, rather) she came into this world I especially treasure. Before you have ever had to actually care for a newborn 24/7, parenthood can appear blissful and filled with timeless moments of staring lovingly upon your peacefully sleeping cherub. My husband Andrew and I felt as though our little sweet daughter took a LOT of work. Babies are a lot of work.

And so are toddlers, but I am here to tell you this: toddler-hood is delightful, really! They still require a lot of work from you as the parents, but with so much more reward. Now we play games, say “I love you” to each other, enjoy exploring the world around us. She cleans up her own messes! Really folks, is there any competition? Not for me.

Now that Audrey is two, Andrew and I have begun to home school her in the form of organized play. If you have happened to read The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home (by Susan Wise Bauer and Jessie Wise) you will understand that your child is in a very particular stage of learning. They easily memorize and retain information. Perfect for starting “school.”

Onward and upward!

(Photo courtesy of Alexa Merrill, Lola Rain Photography)

Leave a Reply

